Catwings – Ursula K. Le Guin, 4 Extraordinary Cats

A Catwings Tale is a series of four books written by the world-famous author Ursula K. Le Guin. I read the first book of the series, Catwings, and I would like to state right away, this book is so cute that you will love it while you read it with your children. I thought it would be wonderful if there were films of this series.


A Catwings Tale is about cats with wings and their various adventures. In the first book, Catwings, we read the stories of four-winged kittens. These small and cute kittens have to leave their mother and fly away as city life is not safe for them. After flying for a long time, they find a place they like and settle there, but soon they see that forest laws can be as challenging as those in the city.

Catwings - Ursula K. Le Guin

After a while, one of the kittens discovers a good-hearted person, Susan Brown. Susan brings food to these cats and watches them from a distance without scaring them. She wants her brother to see these winged cats too, and the two siblings bring food for the cats. Winged cats are also beginning to trust these kind-hearted children and spend time together without fear. The kids also promise each other not to tell anyone about these winged cats because some people may hurt them.

Catwings is a book that instils a love for animals in children. It beautifully explains that animals also have a world and that they also have to face various difficulties. I think little individuals who are just starting to read will love it, but I think everyone from seven to seventy will love it very much! Enjoy reading.

Catwings - Ursula K. Le Guin


The bestselling Catwings series has been redesigned for Fall 2006!

Mrs. Jane Tabby can’t explain why her four precious kittens were born with wings, but she’s grateful that they are able to use their flying skills to soar away from the dangerous city slums where they were born. However, once the kittens escape the big city, they learn that country life can be just as difficult!

Ursula K. Le Guin

Ursula Kroeber Le Guin (1929-2018) was a celebrated and beloved author of 21 novels, 11 volumes of short stories, four collections of essays, 12 children’s books, six volumes of poetry and four of translation. The breadth and imagination of her work earned her six Nebulas, nine Hugos, and SFWA’s Grand Master, along with the PEN/Malamud and many other awards. In 2014 she was awarded the National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, and in 2016 joined the shortlist of authors to be published in their lifetimes by the Library of America.

Ursula Kroeber was born in 1929 and grew up in Berkeley, California. Her parents were anthropologist Alfred Kroeber and writer Theodora Kroeber, author of Ishi. She attended Radcliffe College and did graduate work at Columbia University. She married historian Charles A. Le Guin, in Paris in 1953; they lived in Portland, Oregon, beginning in 1958, and had three children and four grandchildren. Le Guin died peacefully in her home in January, 2018.

Few American writers have done work of such high quality in so many forms. Her oeuvre comprises 21 novels, 11 volumes of short stories and novellas, six volumes of poetry, 12 children’s books, four collections of essays, and four volumes of translation. Le Guin’s major titles have been translated into 42 languages and have remained in print, often for over half a century. Her fantasy novel A Wizard of Earthsea, the first in a related group of six books and one short story, has sold millions of copies worldwide.

Catwings - Ursula K. Le Guin

Le Guin’s first major work of science fiction, The Left Hand of Darkness, is considered groundbreaking for its radical investigation of gender roles and its moral and literary complexity. Her novels The Dispossessed and Always Coming Home redefine the scope and style of utopian fiction. Le Guin’s poetry drew increasing critical and reader interest in the later part of her life; her final collection of poems, So Far So Good, was published shortly after her death.

Among many honors her writing received are a National Book Award, nine Hugo Awards, six Nebula Awards, the Howard Vursell Award of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the PEN/Malamud Award, and the National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. In 2000, she was named a Living Legend by the Library of Congress, and in 2016 she joined the short list of authors to be published in their lifetimes by the Library of America. Three of Le Guin’s books have been finalists for the American Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize.

Critical reception of Le Guin’s work rewarded her rigor and willingness to take risks with forms considered by some to be outside of literary fiction. Harold Bloom includes her among his list of classic American writers. Grace Paley, Carolyn Kizer, Gary Snyder, and John Updike praised her work, and many critical and academic studies of Le Guin’s work have been published. The documentary Worlds of Ursula K. Le Guin, directed by Arwen Curry, was released theatrically in 2018, and a biography of Le Guin’s life and work, by Julie Phillips, is forthcoming.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges: 

Children’s Books for Life!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.