Crocodile on the Sandbank – Elizabeth Peters

Crocodile on the Sandbank is the first book of Elizabeth Peters’ Egyptian cosy mystery series and the first novel I have read from it. Years ago, I had read Christian Jacq’s Ramses series with great pleasure. Now I remember how pleasant it was to read a series about Egypt. Blended with sweet romance and amusing mysteries in Egypt, Amelia Peabody series will be an excellent choice, especially for those who want to spice up their reading habits.


Crocodile on the Sandbank is about the adventures of Amelia Peabody. She has just inherited a large amount of money and sees herself as a highly intelligent, thirty-two-year-old spinster. In the first book of the series, Amelia, after losing her beloved father, decides to follow his steps and decides that she wants to see the world. She continues her trip with her dear Evelyn, whom she met in Rome with an interesting coincidence. She immediately takes her under her protection, and they go to Egypt together. In Egypt, somehow they meet with two archaeologist brothers, and the real adventure begins after that.

Crocodile on the Sandbank - Elizabeth Peters

An excellent character

While reading the book, I thought how exquisite Amelia Peabody was. She is a powerful and pleasant woman character to read. I mean, who wouldn’t love an elegant British woman who nudges people with her umbrella to make her way through? And of course, Elizabeth Peters, who is as cute as the character she created, was very loyal to Egyptian history while writing the book and even the whole series.

In other words, if you remember the things you read in the book, you can learn a few things about Egypt. I would recommend this if you are looking for a lovely book that will make you smile. And also you can learn a few things about Egypt on the way. It can also be useful for those who want to lose themselves in a new series. Enjoy!

Crocodile on the Sandbank - Elizabeth Peters

Crocodile on the Sandbank

Amelia Peabody is Elizabeth Peters’ most brilliant and best-loved creation, a thoroughly Victorian feminist who takes the stuffy world of archaeology by storm with her shocking men’s pants and no-nonsense attitude!

In this first adventure, our headstrong heroine decides to use her so substantial inheritance to see the world. On her travels, she rescues a gentlewoman in distress – Evelyn Barton-Forbes – and so the two become friends. The two companions continue to Egypt where they face mysteries, mummies and the redoubtable Radcliffe Emerson, an outspoken archaeologist, who doesn’t need women to help him solve mysteries — at least that’s what he thinks!


Elizabeth Peters

Barbara Louise Mertz was an American author who wrote under her own name. As well as under the pseudonyms Elizabeth Peters and Barbara Michaels. In 1952, so she received a PhD in Egyptology from the University of Chicago. While she was best know for her mystery and suspense novels. In the 1960s she authored two books on ancient Egypt, both of which have remained in print ever since.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges: 

Amelia Peabody Series by Elizabeth Peters

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.