Lion in the Valley – Elizabeth Peters

Lion in the Valley is the fourth book in the Amelia Peabody series that I’m reading with immense pleasure. This book surprised me a lot and made me laugh because craziest things happen to Amelia. And, of course, ‘Ramses’ Walter turns into a character precisely like what I wanted.


Lion in the Valley - Elizabeth Peters

I understood thoroughly with this book that it is impossible not to lose yourself in this entertaining series. I think there cannot be a magnificent place like Egypt, particularly if you want to escape from your environment. With the beautiful relationships of Amelia, who is a full English lady and her husband Emerson, a celebrated Egyptologist, these books become addictive.

However, I can say that the character ‘Ramses’ Walter, who appeared later in the series, is my favourite, which also works wonders in this book. Although he does unexpected things from an eight-year-old child, I am not surprised because his parents are unusual as well; it runs in the family. This series manages to blend crime with romance and humour very nicely. If you are looking for a ‘light reading’ that will entertain you, I recommend the series entirely. Enjoy!

Lion in the Valley - Elizabeth Peters

Lion in the Valley

The 1985-96 season promises to be an exceptional one for Egyptologist Amelia Peabody, her dashing husband Emerson and their precocious eight-year-old son Rameses. The much-coveted burial chamber in Dahshoor is theirs for the digging. Yet there is a great evil in the wind that caresses the hot sands sweeping through the bustling streets and marketplaces of Cairo.

An expedition cursed by misfortune and the daring moonlit abduction of Rameses alerts Amelia to the presence of her arch-enemy, the Master Criminal. And his is now a personal quest for the most valuable and elusive prize of all: vengeance on the meddling lady archaeologist with the parasol who has sworn to deliver him to justice… Amelia Peabody herself!

Elizabeth Peters

Barbara Louise Mertz was an American author who wrote under her own name. As well as under the pseudonyms Elizabeth Peters and Barbara Michaels. In 1952, so she received a PhD in Egyptology from the University of Chicago. While she was best know for her mystery and suspense novels. In the 1960s she authored two books on ancient Egypt, both of which have remained in print ever since.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges: 

Amelia Peabody Series by Elizabeth Peters

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.