The Last Camel Died at Noon #6 – Elizabeth Peters

The Last Camel Died at Noon is the sixth book in the Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters. I have read and loved the first five books of the series before. However, I set aside the series to continue later, when I got my eyes on other books. Isn’t it a great time to read them now? I prefer to embark on pleasant adventures in Ancient Egypt, rather than boring myself because I can’t leave the house. I recommend the same to you; it helps.


The Last Camel Died at Noon - Elizabeth Peters

The Last Camel Died at Noon was not as enjoyable as the first five books in the series. Of course, there was still pleasant moments, as it was an Amelia Peabody book. However, something was missing or rather, too much. When I checked outThe Last Camel Died at Noon’s reviews, I found that several readers had the same ideas as me. Apparently, the author paid homage to another author, and she changed her style a bit inThe Last Camel Died at Noon. I wish she hadn’t changed.

InThe Last Camel Died at Noon, dear Peabody, Emerson and their son, now ten years old, Ramses not only discover a lost city and civilization but also interfere with their internal affairs. Of course, while defending the innocents, they try to fulfil their duties as archaeologists. Frankly, the character I love most in this series is Ramses, and I love this kid more with every book. I am already looking forward to reading the next book. Enjoy!

The Last Camel Died at Noon - Elizabeth Peters

The Last Camel Died at Noon

The Last Camel Died at Noon: Join our plucky Victorian Egyptologist, together with her devastatingly handsome and brilliant husband Radcliffe, in another exciting escapade

This time Amelia and her dashing husband Emerson set off for a promising archaeological site in Sudan, only to be unwillingly drawn into the search for an African explorer and his young bride who went missing twelve years back.

They survive the rigours of the desert, the death of their camels, and the perfidy of their guides, only to find themselves taken prisoner in a lost city and civilisation. Amelia and Emerson must bravely continue making archaeological finds while doing their best to rescue the innocent… and themselves.The Last Camel Died at Noon.

Elizabeth Peters

Barbara Louise Mertz was an American author who wrote under her own name as well as under the pseudonyms Elizabeth Peters and Barbara M

Barbara Louise Mertz was an American author who wrote under her own name as well as under the pseudonyms Elizabeth Peters and Barbara Michaels. In 1952, she received a PhD in Egyptology from the University of Chicago. While she was best known for her mystery and suspense novels, in the 1960s she authored two books on ancient Egypt, both of which have remained in print ever since.

Elizabeth Peters

Barbara Gross was born on September 29, 1927, in Canton, Illinois. She graduated from the University of Chicago with a bachelor’s degree in 1947, a master’s degree in 1950, and a PhD in Egyptology in 1952, having studied with John A. Wilson. She authored two books on ancient Egypt (both of which have been continuously in print since first publication) but primarily wrote mystery and suspense novels.

She became a published writer in 1964. She was married to Richard Mertz for 19 years (1950-1969) which ended in divorce. They had two children, Peter and Elizabeth Mertz. Under the name Barbara Michaels, she wrote primarily gothic and supernatural thrillers.

Her publisher chose that pseudonym since Mertz had already published one non-fiction book on ancient Egypt, and the publisher did not want Mertz’s novels to be confused with her academic work. Under the pseudonym Elizabeth Peters, Mertz published mysteries, including her Amelia Peabody historical mystery series, using a nom de plume drawn from the names of her two children.

She was a member of the Editorial Advisory Board of KMT, (“A Modern Journal of Ancient Egypt”), Egypt Exploration Society, and the James Henry Breasted Circle of the University of Chicago Oriental Institute. Mertz was also a feminist, a topic that frequently arose in her fiction, and in her professional life. Mertz founded “Malice Domestic”, a Washington-based organization for women mystery writers, “because she thought men were getting all the prizes. She also started a scholarship for women writers at Hood College. Mertz died at her home in Maryland on August 8, 2013.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges: 

Amelia Peabody Series by Elizabeth Peters

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.