The Pearl Sister #4 – Lucinda Riley

The Pearl Sister is the fourth book in Lucinda Riley’s Seven Sisters series. In this book, we read the story of CeCe, a sister who is not very popular among readers. Set in England, Scotland, Australia and Thailand, I really liked the book, especially since it focuses on the pearl trade in Australia.


Like the other books, The Pearl Sister tells the stories of both the present and the past. CeCe feels lonely, and a little helpless after Star finds her own family and completely changes her life. She decides to leave her London home and go to Thailand.

She takes the first steps to find her own family with the support of the interesting stranger she meets here and finally goes to Australia. As soon as she steps into this country, it will not take her long to find her family, thanks to the people she met and the information she gained. However, she will not only discover her family but also finally discover her artistic talent and get rid of the restlessness that is eating her alive.

The Pearl Sister - Lucinda Riley

The other hero of The Pearl Sister is Kitty from CeCe’s past. Unfortunately, Kitty became a character that I could not love, and I was bored a bit while reading her story. It felt like a terrible love story and a sad family drama, unfortunately. But thanks to her, I am pleased to read about Australia’s history and the pearl trade.

The Seven Sisters series is a series that I chose to read to distract myself. Besides learning something new in each book, it is good for me to read the adventures of this exciting family. I prefer to read them, especially when I feel overwhelmed and sad. I guess that’s why I read the books, which are around 700 pages on average, in two or three days. If you are looking for a series that will not tire you at all, take you around various countries, and bring you into a very mysterious family, I recommend reading it. You can be sure that it will detach you from reality, especially in your sad times. Enjoy!

Other books in the series

  1. The Seven Sisters
  2. The Storm Sister
  3. The Shadow Sister
  4. The Pearl Sister
  5. The Moon Sister
The Pearl Sister - Lucinda Riley

The Pearl Sister

The Pearl Sister: Journey to the dusty plains of Central Australia in The Pearl Sister, the fourth book in the number one bestselling Seven Sisters series by Lucinda Riley. A spellbinding story of love and loss, inspired by the mythology of the famous star constellation.

CeCe D’Aplièse has never felt she fitted in anywhere. Following the death of her father, the elusive billionaire Pa Salt – so-called by the six daughters he adopted from around the globe and named after the Seven Sisters star cluster – she finds herself at breaking point. Dropping out of art college, CeCe watches as Star, her beloved sister, distances herself to follow her new love, leaving her completely alone.

In desperation, she decides to flee England and discover her past; the only clues she has are a black-and-white photograph and the name of a woman pioneer who lived in Australia over one hundred years ago. En-route to Sydney, CeCe heads to the one place she has ever felt close to being herself: the stunning beaches of Krabi, Thailand. There amongst the backpackers, she meets the mysterious Ace, a man as lonely as she is and whom she subsequently realizes has a secret to hide . . .

A hundred years earlier, Kitty McBride, daughter of an Edinburgh clergyman, is given the opportunity to travel to Australia as the companion of the wealthy Mrs McCrombie. In Adelaide, her fate becomes entwined with Mrs McCrombie’s family, including the identical, yet very different, twin brothers: impetuous Drummond, and ambitious Andrew, the heir to a pearling fortune.

When CeCe finally reaches the searing heat of the Red Centre of Australia, she begins the search for her past. As something deep within her responds to the energy of the area and the ancient culture of the Aboriginal people, her creativity reawakens once more. With help from those she meets on her journey, CeCe begins to believe that this wild, vast continent could offer her something she never thought possible: a sense of belonging and a home . . .The Pearl Sister is the fourth book in the series.

Lucinda Riley

Lucinda Riley is an Irish author of popular historical fiction and a former actress. She spent the first few years of her life in the village of Drumbeg near Belfast before moving to England. At age 14 she moved to London to a specialist drama and ballet school. The Seven Sisters series is her most popular books.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges: 

Read Around the World

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.