Amelia Peabody Series by Elizabeth Peters

If you want to read a cosy mystery series set in Egypt, you’ll end up reading the Amelia Peabody series due to it is extreme popularity. Elizabeth Peters created a twenty book series set mostly in Egypt with excellent characters and amusing stories. And I’m here to read and review them all!


I’ve read Christian Jacq’s Ramses series when I was fifteen years old, and since then, I’m in love with Egyptology. (And, yes, with Ramses as well!) So when I discovered Amelia Peabody, I knew I’d enjoy it a lot.

Amelia Peabody Series by Elizabeth Peters

Elizabeth Peters was an Egyptologist and wrote this series mixing facts with fiction. There are real archaeologists and real sites into the stories. So this makes the series and excellent choice for the ones who are interested in Ancient Egypt. I have to mention that these series are full of fun and fabulous characters as well. So read for the joy and stay for Ancient Egypt!

Elizabeth Peters / Barbara Mertz

Barbara Louise Mertz was an American author who wrote under her own name as well as under the pseudonyms Elizabeth Peters and Barbara Michaels. In 1952, she received a PhD in Egyptology from the University of Chicago. While she was best known for her mystery and suspense novels, in the 1960s she authored two books on ancient Egypt, both of which have remained in print ever since.


Amelia Peabody Series

  1. Crocodile on the Sandbank
  2. The Curse of the Pharaohs
  3. The Mummy Case
  4. Lion in the Valley
  5. The Deeds of the Disturber
  6. The Last Camel Died at Noon
  7. The Snake, the Crocodile and the Dog
  8. The Hippopotamus Pool
  9. Seeing a Large Cat
  10. The Ape Who Guards the Balance
  11. The Falcon at the Portal
  12. He Shall Thunder in the Sky
  13. Lord of the Silent
  14. The Golden One
  15. Children of the Storm
  16. Guardian of the Horizon
  17. The Serpent on the Crown
  18. Tomb of the Golden Bird
  19. A River in the Sky
  20. The Painted Queen

Did you read this series or hear about them? If you’d like to join me in reading this series, comment below and we can share the joy!


I actually found it easier to read the books in the chronological order of the series, rather than they were written – so I usually go:
11. Guardian of the Horizon
12. The Falcon at the Portal
13. A River in the Sky
14. The Painted Queen
15. He Shall Thunder in the Sky
16. Lord of the Silent
17. The Golden One
18. Children of the Storm
19. The Serpent on the Crown
20. Tomb of the Golden Bird

Such a good series!!!

That sounds clever; I may try it too! I wish she wrote more before passing away. 🙁
Thank you for your comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.